The PSION Organiser II Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Why register?
   The Psion Organiser II Forum
   Psi2Win
   Psi2Win - Support & more
(Moderators: Mikesan, Boris)
   Problem sending diary with psi2win
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Problem sending diary with psi2win  (Read 1110 times)
unclevernon

Problem sending diary with psi2win
« on: Jul 18th, 2005, 2:35pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi all,
I am trying to send the diary content of a Psion II to a PC through Psi2Win, but I can't get it to wrk. I don't know whether it is possible at all, I am new to this device (can you imagine, in 2005!) . I managed to get the main.odb file over to my PC, open it an read the ASCII content. Next I tried to get the diary info over. I save the iary to A: using the name DIARY. Then I tried to send it over as I did with the main.odb. I know the DIARY file exists, because when I do DIARY|MODE|DIR, I see an entry called DIARY. I even made copies called DIARY12, ABCDE. If I try to transfer any of these files, through COMMS|TRANSMIT|FILE and enter the name DIARY, I get the message 'FILE NOT FOUND'.    
Any idea on what I am doing wrong?

Thanks for any input
Boris
Administrator

Re: Problem sending diary with psi2win
« Reply #1 on: Jul 18th, 2005, 8:07pm »

You didn't mention which organiser model you have!

But it is fairly easy to guess, because what you experience is a common problem with models CM and XP only.

The COMMS>TRANSMIT>FILE menu option works only with plain text files, but diary files are binary files (type=2) on these machines (probaly to save valuable ram).

OPL is required to transfer binary files. However, there is only one command involved, so this can be achieved even without programming.
Just enter CALC and type